Winery

Peter Nagyváradi

On old volcanic geysers, amidst the picturesque landscape of the Balaton Peninsula, young winemaker Peter Nagyváradi crafts the modern Hungarian wine style. His goal is to express the diversity of the region through ancient vineyards in harmony with nature.

content-img
content-img

"After visiting small organic producers and learning about their philosophy, it became clear to me that the birth of wines begins in the vineyards."

– Peter Nagyváradi

Colour
Price
Grape
Character

Furmint 2022

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Spicy
Like an embrace of strong, warmer aromas from pepper to coriander, cloves, vanilla to tobacco and leather.
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Complex
17,50 €
23,33 €/L

Perm 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Vegetative
Juicy, Reductive
16,90 €
22,53 €/L

Ròza 2022

winestyle-img Light & Juicy
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Animating, Juicy
16,50 €
22,00 €/L

Monoslou 2022

winestyle-img Light & Juicy
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Spicy
Like an embrace of strong, warmer aromas from pepper to coriander, cloves, vanilla to tobacco and leather.
Fine-meshed
18,50 €
24,67 €/L

Kekfrankos 2022

winestyle-img Silky & Deep
Spicy
Like an embrace of strong, warmer aromas from pepper to coriander, cloves, vanilla to tobacco and leather.
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Elegant
19,00 €
25,33 €/L
sale

Terroir Total!

Normal price 52,40 € Special Price 48,50 €

Peter Nagyvaradi is one of the shooting stars of the Balaton natural wine scene

Peter Nagyváradi is an emerging young winemaker on the northern shore of Lake Balaton in Hungary. He draws inspiration from his homeland in Villány, as well as the geological expertise of his father and the leading role of his grandfather in Pécs' viticulture research institute. After completing his diploma, he embarked on a wine journey that took him from Hungary to New Zealand and Chile. During this journey, he discovered his passion for natural wines and ecologically managed vineyards. In Europe, he found like-minded individuals who shared his philosophy.

In 2018, he decided to delve into the unique terroir of the Balaton region. In 2019, Peter came across neglected, very old Welschriesling bush vines, which he revitalized on weekends, igniting the passion for winemaking within him. It was initially a challenge, but the fruits of his labor thrive better each year. Two years later, he acquired additional plots of Kékfrankos (Blaufränkisch) and Chardonnay on the Tihany Peninsula, and in 2022, a cellar in Balatonfüred.

Today, Peter Nagyváradi manages two hectares in five different parcels and sources grapes from local organic producers for his entry-level wines. His primary goal? To express the diversity of the region through old, traditional vineyards while staying in harmony with nature.

video-img

Peter Nagyváradi's natural wines radiate a sinful hedonism

The area on the northern shore of Lake Balaton is full of geysers and springs. Created by a volcanic eruption, Peter's parcels on the Tihany Peninsula exhibit unique soil formations of limestone, basalt, and other volcanic soils - perfect conditions for viticulture. Despite recurrent hail damage, Peter tackles the challenges of the harvest by selectively picking the grapes over several days, a practice that brings forth an exciting blend of fully ripe grape material and invigorating freshness.

Inspired from the tradition of the Beaujolais

In winemaking, Peter Nagyváradi relies on traditional methods: The white wines undergo a gentle pressing with an old hand press after a short maceration time, while the red wines ferment using the Carbonic Maceration method, inspired by the Beaujolais tradition. Aging takes place in used barriques before the natural wines are bottled unfiltered and without the addition of sulfur.

video-img

Peter Nagyváradi's natural wines exude a sinful hedonism, they are extremely light-footed, cool, and juicy, especially Perm and Ròza. Monoslou and Tichon, vinified from old Kékfrankos single vineyards, present themselves more intense, spicier, and captivating, yet always preserving this silky fresh mouthfeel.

An ode to the new generation of Hungarian winemakers, and above all to Peter Nagyváradi, who masterfully expresses the contemporary wine style of Hungary.

Interview with Peter Nagyvaradi

What would you say the Nagyvaradi winery and your wines stand for?

Peter Nagyvaradi: The main goal is to express the land and culture of the region in my wines by putting nature in the foreground and people in the background.

What makes a great wine for you? Or what is personally important to you in a wine?

Peter Nagyvaradi: The goal of winemaking is purity and vibrancy through expressing the terroir with minimal intervention. For me, the greatest wine is never more than what it is but is much more than it seems. It radiates energy and life.

Does climate change impact your viticulture, and does it also change your work?

Peter Nagyvaradi: We observe some changes in the climate from year to year. The main issue is the extreme conditions that change with a large amplitude. This affects the plants, which must react quickly. One year may bring a long drought period causing fermentation problems but allowing less work in the vineyard. In another year, flash floods and high humidity pose greater challenges for plant protection, but nature thrives. The conclusion for me is to find balance both in the vineyards and in our human approach.

What prompted you to move towards organic/biodynamic/natural wine?

Peter Nagyvaradi: I started working in large industrial wineries ten years ago, where I encountered the other side of winemaking, where many unnecessary manipulations in the name of professional perfection bothered me. After visiting small organic winemakers and learning about their philosophy, it became clear to me that the birth of wines begins in the vineyards, and in the cellar, one needs patience and observation to recognize the beauty of imperfection.

Are there learnings or insights regarding wine production or the wine business that you wish you had at the beginning of your career?

Peter Nagyvaradi: I'm still at the beginning :)

Dear Peter, thank you very much for the conversation!

Weingut

Peter Nagyváradi

Auf alten, vulkanischen Geysiren, mitten in der malerischen Landschaft der Balaton Halbinsel zaubert Jungwinzer Peter Nagyváradi den modernen, ungarischen Weinstil. Sein Ziel: die Vielfalt der Region durch alte Weinberge im Einklang mit der Natur auszudrücken.

content-img
content-img

"Nachdem ich kleine Bio-Produzenten besucht und ihre Philosophie kennengelernt hatte, wurde mir klar, dass die Entstehung von Weinen in den Weinbergen beginnt."

– Peter Nagyváradi

Preis
Rebsorte
Eigenschaft

Furmint 2022

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Würzig
Wie eine Umarmung aus kräftigeren, wärmeren Aromen von Pfeffer über Koriander, Nelken, Vanille zu Tabak und Leder.
Floral
Wie eine duftende Blumenwiese mit Noten wie Rosen- und Jasmin-Blüten und zarten Wiesenkräutern.
Komplex
17,50 €
23,33 €/L

Perm 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Saftig, Reduktiv
16,90 €
22,53 €/L

Ròza 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Floral
Wie eine duftende Blumenwiese mit Noten wie Rosen- und Jasmin-Blüten und zarten Wiesenkräutern.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Animierend, Saftig
16,50 €
22,00 €/L

Monoslou 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Würzig
Wie eine Umarmung aus kräftigeren, wärmeren Aromen von Pfeffer über Koriander, Nelken, Vanille zu Tabak und Leder.
Feinmaschig
18,50 €
24,67 €/L

Kekfrankos 2022

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Würzig
Wie eine Umarmung aus kräftigeren, wärmeren Aromen von Pfeffer über Koriander, Nelken, Vanille zu Tabak und Leder.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Elegant
19,00 €
25,33 €/L
Verkauf

Peter Nagyváradi Package

Normaler Preis 52,40 € Sonderpreis 48,50 €

Peter Nagyvaradi zählt zu den Shooting Stars der Balaton Naturwein Szene

Peter Nagyváradi ist ein aufstrebender Jungwinzer am Nordufer des Balaton in Ungarn. Seine Inspiration zieht er aus seiner Heimat in Villány sowie dem geologischen Fachwissen seines Vaters und der führenden Rolle seines Großvaters in Pécs' Weinbau-Forschungsinstitut. Nach dem Abschluss seines Diploms begab er sich auf eine Weinreise, die ihn von Ungarn über Neuseeland bis nach Chile führte. Dabei fand er seine Leidenschaft für Naturweine und ökologisch bewirtschafteten Weinbergen. In Europa entdeckte er Gleichgesinnte, die seine Philosophie teilten.

Im Jahr 2018 entschied er sich, in das einzigartige Terroir der Balaton-Region einzutauchen. 2019 stieß Peter auf vernachlässigte, sehr alte Welschriesling Buschreben, die er an den Wochenenden wiederbelebte und das Weinbau Feuer in ihm entfachen. Es war anfangs eine Herausforderung, doch die Früchte seiner Arbeit gedeihen von Jahr zu Jahr besser. Zwei Jahre später erwarb er weitere Parzellen Kékfrankos (Blaufränkisch) und Chardonnay auf der Halbinsel Tihany und 2022 einen Keller in Balatonfüred.

Heute bewirtschaftet Peter Nagyváradi zwei Hektar in fünf verschiedenen Parzellen und bezieht Trauben von lokalen Bio-Erzeugern für seine Einstiegsweine. Sein vorrangiges Ziel? Die Vielfalt der Region durch alte, traditionelle Weinberge auszudrücken und dabei im Einklang mit der Natur zu bleiben.

video-img

Peter Nagyváradi’s Naturweine versprühen einen sündhaften Hedonismus

Die Gegend am nördlichen Balaton Ufer ist voll mit Geysiren und Quellen. Erschaffen von einem Vulkanausbruch, weisen Peters Parzellen auf der Tihany-Peninsula einzigartige Bodenformationen von Kalkstein, Basalt und anderen vulkanischen Böden auf - perfekte Bedingungen für Weinbau. Trotz wiederkehrender Hagelschäden bewältigt Peter die Herausforderungen der Ernte, indem er die Trauben vereinzelt an mehreren Tagen liest, eine Praxis, die eine aufregende Mischung aus vollreifen Traubenmaterial und animierender Frische hervorbringt.

Inspiriert von der Tradition aus dem Beaujolais

In der Weinbereitung setzt Peter Nagyváradi auf traditionelle Methoden: Die Weißweine durchlaufen nach kurzer Maischestandzeit eine schonende Pressung mit einer alten Handpresse, während die Rotweine nach der Methode der Macération Carbonique vergoren werden, inspiriert von der Tradition aus dem Beaujolais. Die Reifung erfolgt in gebrauchten Barriques, bevor die Naturweine ungefiltert und ohne Zugabe von Schwefel abgefüllt werden.

video-img

Die Naturweine von Peter Nagyváradi versprühen einen sündhaften Hedonismus, sie sind enorm leichtfüßig, kühl und saftig, allen voran Perm und Ròza. Monoslou und Tichon, aus alten Kékfrankos-Einzellagen vinifiziert, präsentieren sich intensiver, würziger und einnehmender, bewahren jedoch stets dieses seidig frische Mundgefühl.

Eine Ode an die neue Generation ungarischer Winzer:innen, und vor allem an Peter Nagyváradi, der den zeitgenössischen Weinstil von Ungarn meisterhaft zum Ausdruck bringt.  

Interview mit Peter Nagyvaradi

Was würdest du sagen, wofür das Weingut Nagyvaradi und deine Weine stehen?

Peter Nagyvaradi: Das Hauptziel ist es, das Land und die Kultur der Region in meinen Weinen zum Ausdruck zu bringen, indem wir die Natur in den Vordergrund und den Menschen in den Hintergrund stellen.

Was macht für dich einen großen Wein aus? Oder was ist dir persönlich wichtig bei einem Wein?

Peter Nagyvaradi: Das Ziel der Weinbereitung ist die Reinheit und Lebendigkeit durch den Ausdruck des Terroirs mit dem geringsten Eingriff. Für mich ist der größte Wein nie mehr als das, was er ist, sondern er ist viel mehr, als er scheint. Er strahlt Energie und Leben aus.

Hat der Klimawandel einen Einfluss auf Ihren Weinbau und verändert dies auch Ihre Arbeit?

Peter Nagyvaradi: Wir stellen von Jahr zu Jahr einige Veränderungen des Klimas fest. Das Hauptproblem sind die extremen Bedingungen, die sich mit einer großen Amplitude verändern. Das hat Auswirkungen auf die Pflanzen, die schnell reagieren müssen. In einem Jahr ist es eine lange Dürreperiode, die Probleme bei der Gärung verursacht, aber weniger Arbeit im Weinberg erlaubt, im anderen Jahr stellen Sturzfluten und hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit die Winzer vor größere Herausforderungen beim Pflanzenschutz, aber die Natur gedeiht. Die Schlussfolgerung für mich ist, das Gleichgewicht sowohl in den Weinbergen als auch in unserer menschlichen Einstellung zu finden.

Was hat dich dazu veranlasst in Richtung Biologisch/Biodynamisch/Naturwein zu gehen?

Peter Nagyvaradi: Ich habe vor 10 Jahren angefangen, in großen industriellen Weinkellereien zu arbeiten, wo ich die andere Seite der Weinherstellung kennengelernt habe, wo mich die vielen unnötigen Manipulationen im Namen der professionellen Perfektion gestört haben. Nachdem ich kleine Biowinzer besucht und ihre Philosophie kennengelernt hatte, wurde mir klar, dass die Entstehung von Weinen in den Weinbergen beginnt und dass man auch im Keller Geduld und Beobachtung braucht, um die Schönheit der Unvollkommenheit zu erkennen.

Gibt es Learnings oder Einsichten hinsichtlich der Weinerzeugung oder des Wein-Business, die du gerne schon zu Beginn deiner Karriere gehabt hättest?

Peter Nagyvaradi: Ich stehe immer noch am Anfang :)

Lieber Peter, vielen Dank fürs Gespräch!