Winery

Kolònia 52

Annamaria and Attila are the creative minds behind Kolònia 52 and breathe vinophile life into the Hungarian dragon legend of Szent György-hegy. On volcanic basalt, not far from Lake Balaton, they create energising natural wines where legends are not just told, but tasted!

content-img
content-img
Colour
Type
Grape
Character
Sold out

Optimum Acidum 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Vegetative
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Animating
201 kr
268 kr/L
Sold out

Furmint 2022

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Vegetative
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Earthy
Like an energy bursting forest floor with aromas of mushrooms, moss, root vegetables but also dried aromas.
Fine-meshed
265 kr
353 kr/L

Kolònia 52 and the dragon legend of Szent György-hegy

Named after the chapel of St George that once stood at its foot, legends surround the mountain, including that of St George and the dragon that once lived in the mountain and watched over the villagers. Szent György-hegy is a characteristic elevation on the northern shore of Lake Balaton and is characterised by huge basalt columns 10-30 metres high. Around 3 to 4 million years ago, the bedrock was formed from Pannonian marine sediments, overlaid by layers of basalt and basalt tuff from volcanic eruptions.

Once a hill, the height of the mountain reveals its original surface. The vineyards around St George's Mountain belong to the Badacsony sub-region of the Balaton wine-growing region, as the fertile soil is particularly suitable for wine-growing.

video-img

Kolónia 52 produces energetic natural wines with volcanic origins

video-img

Annamaria Török and Attila Francisti, the creative minds behind Kòlonia 52, make use of a wide variety of soil formations, from volcanic origin in the form of basalt and some limestone on individual sites at the foot of the hill. They learnt their expertise as winemakers from pioneers of biodynamic agriculture, including Stephanie and Edi Tscheppe from Gut Oggau and Gernot and Heike Heinrich from Burgenland.

The two have settled in a small house and cellar in the hills of Szent György-hegy, where they cultivate Furmint, Kekfrankos and small plots of Pinot Noir alongside other local varieties. Everything is done using meticulous manual labour and biodynamic and naturally synergetic viticultural methods. After careful manual harvesting, the grapes are pressed in a small, electric basket press and then matured in used barrels from Champagne and Austria. Balaton New Faces!

Weingut

Kolònia 52

Annamaria und Attila sind die kreativen Köpfe hinter Kolònia 52 und hauchen der ungarischen Drachenlegende von Szent György-hegy ein vinophiles Leben ein. Auf vulkanischem Basalt, unweit vom Balaton, kreieren sie energiegeladene Naturweine, wo Legenden nicht nur erzählt, sondern geschmeckt werden!

content-img
content-img
Farbe
Art
Rebsorte
Eigenschaft

Optimum Acidum 2022

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Animierend
17,50 €
23,33 €/L

Furmint 2022

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Erdig
Wie ein Energie strotzender Waldboden mit Aromen von Pilzen, Moos, Wurzelgemüse aber auch Dörraromen.
Animierend
23,00 €
30,67 €/L

Kolònia 52 und die Drachenlegende von Szent György-hegy

Benannt nach der einst zu seinen Füßen stehenden Kapelle des Heiligen Georgs, ranken sich Legenden um den Berg, darunter die vom Heiligen Georg und dem Drachen, der einst im Berg wohnte und über die Dorfbewohner wachte. Szent György-hegy ist eine charakteristische Erhebung am nördlichen Balaton Ufer und zeichnet sich durch riesige, 10-30 Meter hohe Basaltsäulen aus. Vor etwa 3 bis 4 Millionen Jahren entstand das Grundgestein aus pannonischen Meeres-Sedimenten, überlagert von Basalt- und Basalttuff-Schichten durch Vulkanausbrüche.

Einst ein Hügel, verrät die Höhe des Berges die ursprüngliche Oberfläche. Die Weinberge rund um den St.-Georgs-Bergs gehören zum Untergebiet "Badacsony" des Weinbaugebiets am Balaton, da die fruchtbaren Böden für den Weinbau besonders geeignet sind.

video-img

Kolónia 52 erzeugen energetische Naturweine mit vulkanischer Herkunft

video-img

Annamaria Török und Attila Francisti, die kreativen Köpfe hinter Kòlonia 52, bedienen sich dabei an verschiedensten Bodenformationen, von vulkanischen Ursprungs in Form von Basalt und etwas Kalkstein auf Einzellagen am Fuße der Erhebung. Ihre Expertise als Winzer:in haben sie bei Pionieren der biologisch-biodynamischen Landwirtschaft erlernt, darunter Stephanie und Edi Tscheppe von Gut Oggau und Gernot und Heike Heinrich aus dem Burgenland.

Die beiden haben sich in einem kleinen Haus und Keller in den Hügeln von Szent György-hegy niedergelassen, wo sie Furmint, Kekfrankos sowie kleine Parzellen von Pinot Noir neben anderen lokalen Sorten bewirtschaften. Alles mittels penibler Handarbeit und biodynamischer sowie natürlich-synergetischer Weinbaumethoden. Nach sorgfältiger Handlese wird das Lesegut in einer kleinen, elektrischen Korbpresse gepresst und anschließend in gebrauchten Fässern aus der Champagne und Österreich ausgebaut. Balaton New Faces!