Winery

Odinstal

Making wine so high up here in the Palatinate could have nobody imagined at all in the 1990s. In times of climate change, however, the Odinstal winery, situated at 350 metres above sea level and towering over the town of Wachenheim, is set to make history.

content-img
content-img

"The style comes from the philosophy of bringing as little input into the system as possible."

– Andreas Schuhmann

Colour
Wine Style
Type
Sold out

Silvaner Nakt 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Vegetative
Juicy, Fine-meshed
21,50 €
28,67 €/L
Sold out

WEIßBURGUNDER 350 N.N. 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Smooth, Fine-meshed
27,00 €
36,00 €/L

Odinstal is simply about wine, which reflects the DNA of this wonderful place

The winery was acquired in 1998 by the Hensel family, who, together with farm manager and winemaker Andreas Schuhmann, uncompromisingly focus on quality and authenticity. Very delicate wines with subtle aromas are produced here.

The Odinstal winery dispenses with modern cellar technology and strives for agricultural individuality that works in cycles and delivers high-quality wines every year with little intervention. Quite simply, it is all about wine that should reflect the DNA of this monopollage.

video-img
video-img

The pursuit of agricultural individuality and special wines that nourish body, mind and soul.

Due to the temperatures, the wines mature more slowly and reach very moderate alcohol levels. Other crucial components are the soils, which literally shaped the area due to a volcanic eruption. Mineral basalt, red sandstone, shell limestone and Keuper dominate the rocks.

The wines ferment without temperature control, also undergo spontaneous acid reduction and are minimally sulphurised - so the philosophy is clear. The resulting style is neither loud nor brash, but gripping and long.

Weingut

Odinstal

So hoch oben Wein zu machen, konnte man sich in den 90er Jahren in der Pfalz noch überhaupt nicht vorstellen. In Zeiten des Klimawandels wird das auf 350 Meter hoch gelegene Weingut Odinstal, welches über der Stadt Wachenheim thront jedoch Geschichte schreiben.

content-img
content-img

“Der Stil ergibt sich aus der Philosophie, möglichst keinen Input von außen in das System zu bringen”

– Andreas Schuhmann

Ausverkauft

Silvaner Nakt 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Saftig, Feinmaschig
21,50 €
28,67 €/L

Weißburgunder 350 N.N. 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Geschmeidig, Feinmaschig
27,00 €
36,00 €/L

Bei Odinstal geht es einfach um Wein, der die DNA dieses wunderbaren Ortes widerspiegelt

Erworben wurde das Weingut 1998 von der Familie Hensel, die zusammen mit Betriebsleiter und Winzer Andreas Schuhmann kompromisslos auf Qualität und Authentizität setzen. Es entstehen hier sehr filigrane Weine mit subtilen Aromen.

Das Weingut Odinstal verzichtet auf moderne Kellertechnik und strebt nach landwirtschaftlicher Individualität, die in Kreisläufen arbeitet und mit wenig Intervention jedes Jahr hochwertige Produkte liefert. Schlichtweg geht es einfach um Wein, der die DNA dieser Monopollage widerspiegeln soll.

video-img
video-img

Das Streben nach landwirtschaftlicher Individualität und besonderem Weinen, die Körper, Geist und Seele nähren

Aufgrund der Temperaturen reifen die Weine langsamer und erreichen sehr moderate Alkoholwerte. Weitere entscheidende Komponenten sind die Böden, die aufgrund eines Vulkanausbruchs die Gegend buchstäblich geformt haben. Mineralischer Basalt, Buntsandstein, Muschelkalk und Keuper dominieren das Gestein.

Die Weine gären ohne Temperaturkontrolle, machen auch spontan ihren Säureabbau und werden minimalst geschwefelt -  die Philosophie ist also klar. Der daraus resultierende Stil ist weder laut oder frech, sondern zupackend und lang.