Winery

Herbert Zillinger

Herbert and Carmen Zillinger are considered as exceptional talents in the Weinviertel region: the winery stands for quality without compromise. Each wine bears its own personality and yet always the signature of Zillinger.

content-img
content-img

"We never trim our wines for a promising deal or a better rating. If we like them as they are, then we are happy."

– Herbert Zillinger

Colour
Type
Grape variety
Price

Goldfisch 2021

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Spicy
Like an embrace of strong, warmer aromas from pepper to coriander, cloves, vanilla to tobacco and leather.
Structured, Aromatic
14,50 €
19,33 €/L
Sold out

Popcorn 2021

Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Vegetative
Juicy, Lively
11,50 €
15,33 €/L

Grüner Veltliner Hirschenreyn 2019

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Spicy
Like an embrace of strong, warmer aromas from pepper to coriander, cloves, vanilla to tobacco and leather.
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Rich, Sweet
19,50 €
26,00 €/L
Sold out

Grüner Veltliner Horizont 2021

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Structured, Juicy
14,50 €
19,33 €/L

The Zillinger Winery: the avant-garde of the Weinviertel region

With 15,800 hectares, Weinviertel is Austria's largest wine-growing region. With his clear approach to honesty, depth, tranquillity and expressiveness, Herbert Zillinger has succeeded in attracting a great deal of attention internationally and has thus also stood out as an exceptional talent in his homeland. 

No pesticides, no additives, no fining substances, but one thing above all: time. Or as Herbert would say, "time to mature". The result are purist wines with a unique selling point. We almost can't imagine that he would "offend" some customers with this, as he says.

As balanced and easy-drinking as the wines are, there can't be many wine drinkers, neither conventional nor natural wine lovers, who can refuse this good stuff.

Uncompromising, origin-conscious and modern in the sense of "back to the roots" is how the wines can be described.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
video-img

Natural wine is the logical consequence

Herbert Zillinger took over his parents' winery in the Weinviertel region of Austria at the age of 20. When Carmen, his wife, joined the winery in 2005, the Zillingers continued on their quality course and, at the latest since the birth of their first daughter Amelie, it was clear that only natural wine, or sustainable management as a whole, could be the only right way forward. Since 2016, the Zillingers have been working according to biodynamic standards, certified with the "Respect Biodynamic" label.

video-img

Grüner Veltliner is and remains the wine of the Weinviertel region

As is typical in the Weinviertel, Grüner Veltliner is also the most important grape variety at Herbert and Carmen. But Traminer, Sauvignon Blanc and Zweigelt are also skilfully turned into fine wines. 

The vineyards are of course cultivated organically, i.e. without chemical fertilisers and pesticides. Herbert Zillinger supports his vines with natural nitrogen fertiliser made from cow and pig manure, which is distributed by hand.

Interview with Herbert Zillinger

Hello Herbert!


What would you say your winery and your wines stand for?

Herbert Zillinger: We stand for lively, very puristic wines that reflect the grape variety, origin, soil and climatic conditions (i.e. terroir) in a completely unadulterated and unvarnished way.


What makes a great wine for you? Or what is important to you personally in a wine?

Herbert Zillinger: Above all, a great wine is a wine that has a lasting impact on us. In our opinion, a great wine must also have a powerful body, liveliness and, above all, perfect balance. These are mostly wines from artisanal farmers whose soils are healthy and vital.


Does climate change influence your viticulture and does this also change things in your work?

Herbert Zillinger: Climate change is a constant concern for us, and of course we are worried about it. However, we know that with our biodynamic way of working we are perfectly equipped against weather extremes, and that we can thus also make a small contribution to combating the climate catastrophe.


What made you go in the direction of organic/biodynamic/natural wine?

Herbert Zillinger: We wanted to practise a form of agriculture that was not based on the expense of others (health of soils, environment, employees,...). As our trust in nature increased, we noticed that supposed problems suddenly disappeared and a balance increasingly emerged that was reflected in all areas of daily life (professional as well as private). Perfectly balanced grapes allow us to take a completely purist approach to vinification, which in turn brings us closer to our ideal of an unadulterated, honest wine.

Weingut

Herbert Zillinger

Herbert und Carmen Zillinger gelten als Ausnahmetalent im Weinviertel: Das Weingut steht für Qualität ohne Kompromisse. Jeder Wein trägt seine eigene Persönlichkeit und dennoch immer die Handschrift Zillinger.

content-img
content-img

"Wir trimmen unsere Weine nie auf ein aussichtsreiches Geschäft oder eine bessere Bewertung hin. Wenn sie so gefallen, wie sie sind, dann sind wir glücklich."

– Herbert Zillinger

Goldfisch 2021

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Würzig
Wie eine Umarmung aus kräftigeren, wärmeren Aromen von Pfeffer über Koriander, Nelken, Vanille zu Tabak und Leder.
Strukturiert, Aromatisch
14,50 €
19,33 €/L

Popcorn 2021

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Saftig, Lebendig
11,50 €
15,33 €/L

Grüner Veltliner Hirschenreyn 2019

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Würzig
Wie eine Umarmung aus kräftigeren, wärmeren Aromen von Pfeffer über Koriander, Nelken, Vanille zu Tabak und Leder.
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Extraktreich, Süffig
19,50 €
26,00 €/L

Grüner Veltliner Horizont 2021

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Strukturiert, Saftig
14,50 €
19,33 €/L

Das Weingut Herbert Zillinger: Die Avantgarde des Weinviertels

Mit 15.800 Hektar ist Weinviertel ist Österreichs größtes Weinanbaugebiet. Mit seiner klaren Linie zu Ehrlichkeit, Tiefgang, Ruhe und Ausdruckskraft ist es Herbert Zillinger gelungen, international für großes Aufsehen zu sorgen und damit auch in seiner Heimat als Ausnahmetalent herauszustechen. 

Keine Pestizide, keine Zusätze, keine Schönungsmittel, dafür vor allem eines: Zeit. Oder wie es Herbert sagen würde "Zeit der Reife". Das Ergebnis sind puristische Weine mit Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Dass er damit bei manch Kunden "anecken" würde, - wie er sagt - können wir uns fast nicht vorstellen.

So ausgewogen und trinkfreudig wie die Weine sind, kann es nicht viele Weintrinker geben, weder konventionelle oder Naturwein-Lieber, die sich diesem guten Stoff verwehren können.

Kompromisslos, herkunftsbewusst und modern im Sinne von „zurück zu den Wurzeln“ lassen sich die Weine beschreiben.

video-img

Naturwein ist nur die logische Konsequenz

Herbert Zillinger übernahm bereits als 20jähriger das elterliche Weingut im Weinviertel in Österreich. Als 2005 Carmen, seine Frau, in den Betrieb einstieg, setzen die Zillinger ihren Qualitätskurs fort und spätestens seit der Geburt ihrer ersten Tochter Amelie war klar, dass nur Naturwein, oder das nachhaltige Wirtschaften insgesamt, der einzig richtige Weg sein könne. Seit nunmehr 2016 arbeiten die Zillingers nach biodynamischen Richtlinien, zertifiziert mit dem "Respect Biodynamisch"-Label.

video-img

Grüner Veltliner ist und bleibt der Wein im Weinviertel

Wie im Weinviertel typisch, ist auch bei Herbert und Carmen der Grüne Veltliner die wichtigste Rebsorte. Aber auch Traminer, Sauvignon Blanc und Zweigelt werden gekonnt zu feinen Tropfen verarbeitet. 

Bewirtschaftet werden die Weinberge selbstverständlich biologisch, das heißt ohne chemische Dünger und Pflanzenschutzmittel. Herbert Zillinger unterstützt die Natur mit natürlichem Stickstoffdünger aus Kuh- und Schweinemist, der händisch verteilt wird.

Interview mit Herbert Zillinger

Hallo Herbert!


Was würdet ihr sagen, wofür euer Weingut und eure Weine stehen?

Herbert Zillinger: Wir stehen für lebendige, sehr puristische,Weine, die Rebsorte, Herkunft, Boden, klimatische Gegebenheiten (sprich Terroir) völlig unverfälscht und ungeschminkt wiederspiegeln.


Was macht für euch einen großen Wein aus? Oder was ist euch persönlich wichtig bei einem Wein?

Herbert Zillinger: Ein großer Wein ist in erster Linie ein Wein, der uns nachhaltig berührt. Ein großer Wein muss unseres Erachtens nach auch einen druckvollen Körper, gewisses Trinkanimo, Lebendigkeit, und vor allem perfekte Balance mitbringen. Dies sind meist Weine von handwerklich arbeitenden Bauern, deren Böden gesund und vital sind.


Hat der Klimawandel Einfluss auf euren Weinbau und ändert dies auch Dinge in eurem Schaffen?

Herbert Zillinger: Der Klimawandel beschäftig uns permanent und macht uns natürlich auch Sorgen. Wir wissen aber, dass wir mit unserer biodynamischen Arbeitsweise gegen Wetterextreme perfekt gerüstet sind, und wir damit auch einen kleinen Beitrag zur Bekämpfung der Klimakatastrophe beitragen können.


Was hat euch dazu veranlasst in Richtung Biologisch/Biodynamisch/Naturwein zu gehen?

Herbert Zillinger: Wir wollten eine Form der Landwirtschaft ausüben, die nicht auf Kosten anderer (Gesundheit von Böden, Umwelt, Mitarbeiter,…) basiert. Mit dem zunehmenden Vertrauen in die Natur haben wir gemerkt, dass vermeintliche Probleme plötzlich verschwinden und sich zunehmend eine Balance einstellt, die sich in allen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens (beruflich als auch privat) wiederspiegelt. Perfekt ausbalancierte Trauben erlauben uns eine völlig puristische Herangehensweise in der Vinifikation, was uns wiederum unserem Ideal eines unverfälschten, ehrlichen Weines näher kommen lässt.