Winery

Georg Lingenfelder

Escaped from home, travelled a lot and then studied geology - the longing for the Palatinate and natural wine finally brought Georg back to Großkarlsbach, where he is leading the family winery towards modernity.

content-img
Colour
Wine Style
Type
Grape variety
Price
sale

Sylvaner 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Vegetative
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Lively, Complex
Normal price 137,00 kr Special Price 123,00 kr
164,00 kr/L
Sold out

Riesling 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Vegetative
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Aromatic, Structured
137,00 kr
182,67 kr/L

Low-intervention for 3 generations

We met Georg in the Berlin wine bar Konträr when he was presenting his first vintage 2020. Georg is charismatic, thoughtful and uncomplicated, we Austrians would say: "he has a good charm!". And it is precisely this charm that the mid-twenties-year-old also conjures up in his natural wines.

Georg Lingenfelder belongs to a winegrowing family that has been farming for 500 years and, by Palatinate standards, pursued an ecologically sustainable winegrowing philosophy very early on - a legacy that Georg is now respectfully developing further in the 14th generation, and in doing so, he is going completely his own way. 

On around 13 hectares, only regional grape varieties such as Riesling, Silvaner, Pinot Noir and Morio Muskat (=natural cross between Riesling and Silvaner) are cultivated - grape varieties that have their origin or a longer tradition in the Palatinate. Sauvignon Blanc or Chardonnay are deliberately not planted in order to preserve the originality of the region. The plots in Georg's vineyards around Freinsheim and Großkarlsbach consist of tertiary limestone and loess and sandy soils with clay intercalations. With plenty of time, natural wines with subtle aromas are created here that always show where they come from.

video-img

Georg Lingenfelder produces purist natural wines, all without dogma

Georg sees his task as a winemaker in carefully working out his own style, because nature already provides everything; as a human being, you simply intervene in a supportive way. In addition to careful manual work in the vineyard, he tries to bring his wines to the bottle as puristically as possible, but allows himself to turn a few screws that reflect his own signature of winemaking.

In the cellar, fermentation takes place in used Palatinate barrique, which comes from the neighbouring forest - after remaining on the full lees for about 12 months, the wines are racked off together with the dirt and lard (i.e. no separation of the lees) and bottled unfiltered, with a small pinch of sulphur serving as stabilisation. The results are fresh, textured natural wines with a hint of exoticism and immense juiciness that clearly reflect the special microclimate around Großkarlsbach in the Northern Palatinate - that is incredibly fun to drink.

video-img

Weingut

Georg Lingenfelder

Von zuhause ausgebrochen, viel gereist und dann Geologie studiert – die Sehnsucht nach der Pfalz und dem Naturwein holte Georg dann schließlich doch noch zurück nach Großkarlsbach, wo er das Familienweingut in Richtung Moderne führt.

content-img
Farbe
Wine Style
Art
Preis
Ausverkauft

Sylvaner 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Lebendig, Komplex
18,00 €
24,00 €/L
Ausverkauft

Riesling 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Aromatisch, Strukturiert
18,00 €
24,00 €/L

Low-Intervention seit 3 Generationen

Wir lernten Georg in der Berliner Weinbar Konträr kennen, als er gerade seinen ersten Jahrgang 2020 vorstellte. Georg ist charismatisch, bedacht und unkompliziert, wir Österreicher würden sagen: “er hat Schmäh!". Und genau diesen Charme zaubert der Mitte Zwanzigjährige auch in die Flaschen.

Georg Lingenfelder gehört zu einer Winzerfamilie, die bereits seit 500 Jahren Landwirtschaft betreibt und für pfälzische Verhältnisse bereits sehr früh eine ökologisch nachhaltige Weinbau Philosophie verfolgte – ein Vermächtnis, das Georg nun in 14.Generation respektvoll weiterentwickelt und dabei ganz seinen eigenen Weg einschlägt. 

Auf rund 13 Hektar werden ausschließlich regionale Rebsorten wie Riesling, Silvaner, Spätburgunder und Morio Muskat (=natürliche Kreuzung aus Riesling und Silvaner) bewirtschaftet – Rebsorten, die ihren Ursprung oder eine längere Tradition in der Pfalz besitzen. Sauvignon Blanc oder Chardonnay werden ganz bewusst nicht gepflanzt, um die Originalität der Region zu bewahren. Die Lagen in Georgs Weingärten rund um Freinsheim und Großkarlsbach bestehen aus tertiärem Kalkstein und Löss- und Sandböden mit Toneinlagerungen, mit viel Zeit entstehen hier Naturweine mit subtilen Aromen die immer zeigen, woher sie kommen.

video-img

Georg Lingenfelder erzeugt puristische Naturweine, aber ohne Dogma

Seine Aufgabe als Winzer sieht Georg in dem vorsichtigen Herausarbeiten der eigenen Stilistik, denn die Natur gibt bereits alles vor, als Mensch greift man schlichtweg nur unterstützend ein. Nebst sorgfältiger Handarbeit im Weingarten versucht er, seine Weine so puristisch wie möglich auf die Flasche zu ziehen, erlaubt sich allerdings an einigen Stellschrauben zu drehen, die seine eigene Handschrift des Weinmachens widerspiegeln.

Im Keller findet die Gärung im gebrauchten Pfälzer Barrique statt, das vom benachbarten Wald stammt – nach ca. 12 monatigem Verbleib auf der Vollhefe werden die Weine samt Dreck und Speck (also kein Abtrennen der Trubstoffe) abgestochen und unfiltriert gefüllt, eine kleine Messerspitze Schwefel dient als Stabilisation. Das Ergebnis sind frische, texturierte Naturweine mit einem Hauch Exotik und immenser Saftigkeit, die das besondere Kleinklima rund um Großkarlsbach in der Nordpfalz deutlich reflektieren – das macht unheimlich viel Spaß zu trinken.

WIr sind bereits jetzt schon gespannt, was Georg in den nächsten Jahren abliefern wird. Was aber jetzt schon sicher ist: er gehört zu den aufstrebendsten Jungwinzer:innen Deutschlands.

video-img