Winery

Frank Cornelissen

High up in the shadow of the Mount Etna, Belgian Frank Cornelissen cultivates expressive wines of volcanic origin that enjoy cult status among wine lovers worldwide.

content-img
content-img

"Before a wine can be good, it must first be real."

– Frank Cornelissen

Colour
Type
Grape variety

Susucaru Rossato 2021

winestyle-img Silky & Deep
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Structured, Elegant
23,90 €
31,87 €/L

Munjebel Bianco 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineral
Like the idea of a wet stone: sometimes cool, salty, slightly smoky and mostly a tight, grippy texture on the palate. Rather a mouthfeel than aromatics.
Vegetative
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Fine-meshed, Complex
41,90 €
55,87 €/L

Frank Cornelissen works on jewel-like mini plots on the cool northern slope of Mount Etna

The unique terroir at the "Montagna", as the volcano is called by the locals, has become a field of oenological experimentation for Frank Cornelissen for two decades now. Frank's philosophy of agriculture is based on the fact that man will never be able to understand all the complexity and interactions of nature and the cosmos. Because of this, he decided to renounce all treatments such as chemical, organic, traditional or even biodynamic.

video-img

Natural wines with an atmosphere, or soul, that resembles the environment: fragrant, elegant, almost fragile and of a rare beauty.

video-img

With the Mediterranean Sea in front and the peak of Etna behind us, the view is truly breathtaking. The northern part of Etna is also considered a top wine-growing region these days and is compared to Burgundy or Piedmont for good reason.

Etna has extremely complex soil characteristics and the numerous eruptions have made the soil very soft-there is a wide variety of structures, with the majority consisting of volcanic ash and lava rock, which gives the wines a slightly dark smokiness.

Frank Cornelissen's vineyards are located on small plots, spread over various altitudes up to 1000 metres, spanning a total area of 13 hectares. The second half of the 24-hectare estate is planted with olive trees and various types of fruit - in the gardens you will find a remarkable biodiversity, which sustainably strengthens the vineyard and its vines.

The grapes are harvested at full ripeness and the vinification takes place partly in terracotta amphorae buried in lava stone and partly in very large, neutral epoxy resin tanks, without the use of additives or fining agents, of course.

In Frank Cornelissen's vineyards, old, almost forgotten grape varieties of Sicily are thriving

In addition to the classic, Sicilian grape varieties such as Nerello Mascalese and Carricante, Frank Cornelissen also strives to cultivate the almost forgotten, autochthonous Minella Bianca, Francisi, Cataratto and Grecanico, all of which are spread over small, jewel-like vineyards on the northern slopes of Mount Etna.

Tillage is avoided as much as possible, although this depends on the vintage and the amount of water during the winter (recovery of the vines after the production cycle). The aim of Frank and his team is to avoid any treatment in the vineyard, orchard and surrounding area, which has been achieved even in difficult vintages such as 2004 and 2005. Although Etna has a tradition of planting vines in high density, Frank tries to reduce monoculture and plant different varieties of fruit and also keep bees to restore a complex ecosystem.

Weingut

Frank Cornelissen

Hoch oben im Schatten des Lava speienden Ätna kultiviert der Belgier Frank Cornelissen ausdrucksstarke Weine vulkanischen Ursprungs, die Kultstatus bei Weinliebhaber:innen weltweit genießen.

content-img
content-img

"Bevor ein Wein gut sein kann, muss er zuvor echt sein."

– Frank Cornelissen

Art
Rebsorte

Susucaru Rosato 2021

winestyle-img Silky & Deep
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Strukturiert, Elegant
23,90 €
31,87 €/L

Munjebel Bianco 2020

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Mineralisch
Wie die Vorstellung an einen nassen Stein: Manchmal kühl, salzig, leicht rauchig und meist ein straffe, griffige Textur am Gaumen. Eher ein Mundgefühl als eine Aromatik.
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Floral
Wie eine duftende Blumenwiese mit Noten wie Rosen- und Jasmin-Blüten und zarten Wiesenkräutern.
Feinmaschig, Komplex
41,90 €
55,87 €/L

Frank Cornelissen bewirtschaftet juwelenartige Kleinstparzellen am kühlen Nordhang des Ätna

Das einzigartige Terroir am “Montagna”, so wie der Vulkan von den Einheimischen genannt wird, ist für Frank Cornelissen seit mittlerweile zwei Jahrzehnten zu einem önologischen Experimentierfeld geworden. Frank's Philosophie der Landwirtschaft basiert darauf, dass der Mensch niemals in der Lage sein wird, die ganze Komplexität und Wechselwirkungen der Natur und des Kosmos zu verstehen. Aufgrund dessen beschloss er, auf sämtliche Behandlungen wie chemisch, biologisch, traditionell oder sogar biodynamisch zu verzichten.

video-img

Naturweine mit einer Atmosphäre, oder Seele, die der Umgebung ähneln: duftend, elegant, fast zerbrechlich und von einer seltenen Schönheit.

video-img

Mit dem Mittelmeer vor und dem Gipfel des Ätna hinter uns ist die Aussicht wahrlich atemberaubend. Der nördliche Teil des Ätna gilt heutzutage außerdem als Top Weinbaugebiet und wird nicht ohne Grund mit dem Burgund oder dem Piemont verglichen.

Der Ätna besitzt äußerst komplexe Bodenbeschaffenheiten und die zahlreichen Eruptionen haben den Boden sehr weich gemacht–es gibt die unterschiedlichsten Strukturen, wobei der Großteil aus vulkanischer Asche und Lavagestein besteht, die den Weinen eine leicht dunkle Rauchigkeit verleiht.

Frank Cornelissen’s Weinberge liegen auf kleinen Parzellen, verteilt in verschiedenen Höhenlagen auf bis zu 1000 Meter und spannen eine Gesamtfläche von 13 Hektar. Die zweite Hälfte des 24 ha großen Guts ist mit Olivenbäumen und verschiedenen Obstsorten bepflanzt—bei Frank Cornelissen findet man eine beachtliche Biodiversität, die den Weinberg und deren Reben nachhaltig stärkt.

Die Trauben werden bei voller Reife gelesen und die Weinbereitung erfolgt zum Teil in im Lavastein eingegrabenen Terrakotta-Amphoren und in teils sehr großen, neutralen Epoxidharz Tanks, ohne die Verwendung von Zusatzstoffen oder Schönungsmitteln versteht sich.

In Frank Cornelissen's Weingärten gedeihen alte, fast vergessene Rebsorten Sizilien's

Neben den klassischen, sizilianischen Rebsorten wie Nerello Mascalese und Carricante bemüht sich Frank auch um die fast vergessenen, autochthonen Rebsorten Minella Bianca, Francisi, Cataratto und Grecanico, die allesamt auf kleine, juwelen-artige Weinberge am Nordhang des Ätna verteilt sind.

Die Bodenbearbeitung wird so weit wie möglich vermieden, obwohl dies vom Jahrgang und der Wassermenge während des Winters (Erholung der Reben nach dem Produktionszyklus) abhängt. Das Ziel von Frank und seinem Team ist es, jegliche Behandlung im Weinberg, im Obstgarten und in der Umgebung zu vermeiden, was auch in schwierigen Jahrgängen wie 2004 und 2005 gelungen ist. Obwohl der Ätna eine Tradition in der Anpflanzung von Weinstöcken in hoher Dichte hat, versucht Frank die Monokultur zu reduzieren und verschiedene Obstsorten zu pflanzen und auch Bienen zu halten, um ein komplexes Ökosystem wiederherzustellen.