Winery

Brand Bros

The brothers Daniel and Jonas Brand have shaken up the scene in recent years. They have been producing natural wines in the idyllic town of Bockenheim since 2014 and are leading the family winery towards modernity.

content-img
content-img
Sold out

Müller Thurgau Pur 2019

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Earthy
Like an energy bursting forest floor with aromas of mushrooms, moss, root vegetables but also dried aromas.
Lively, Oxidative
121,00 kr
161,33 kr/L

Holy Chapel 2018

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Fruity
Like a fruit basket of fresh fruit: From citrus to peach, apple, pear, to cherry, raspberry or plum.
Vegetative
Fine-meshed, Oxidative
151,00 kr
201,33 kr/L

Sensitive work according to Biodynamic guidelines

Although the winery was certified organic in 2018, the Brand Bros have long been working with stricter biodynamic guidelines and cultivate a total of 18 hectares of vineyards that are planted with Portugieser, Müller Thurgau and Cabernet Franc in addition to Riesling, Silvaner, Pinot Blanc and Pinot Noir. Low yields, a lot of greenery and sensitive foliage work in the vineyard are the order of the day. With an extremely positive effect: the vines are immensely strengthened due to the biodiversity, the alcohol values of the wines thus reach a maximum of 12% and are thus bursting with animating freshness without losing their straightforwardness.

Climatically, Bockenheim also has a somewhat cooler climate compared to other parts of the Palatinate, which allows the grapes to ripen more slowly. An important factor here is played by the Donnersberg, which protects against incoming weather systems and carries the wind down into the valleys, which also keeps the vineyards free of mildew.

video-img

At the Brands, each wine gets the time it needs

In the cellar, things are also not very dogmatic: the wines ferment with natural vineyard yeasts and are drawn into the bottle without filtration or the addition of further additives. Bottling is not based on a fixed date; Daniel and Jonas give each wine the time it needs. The products are as lively as the two themselves - this is how the young Palatinate tastes!

Weingut

Brand Bros

Die Brüder Daniel und Jonas Brand haben die Szene in den letzten Jahren ziemlich aufgemischt. Seit 2014 produzieren sie Naturweine im beschaulichen Bockenheim und führen das Familienweingut in fünfter Generation in Richtung Moderne.

content-img
content-img

Müller Thurgau Pur 2019

winestyle-img Fresh & Juicy
Floral
Wie eine duftende Blumenwiese mit Noten wie Rosen- und Jasmin-Blüten und zarten Wiesenkräutern.
Erdig
Wie ein Energie strotzender Waldboden mit Aromen von Pilzen, Moos, Wurzelgemüse aber auch Dörraromen.
Lebendig, Oxidativ
15,90 €
21,20 €/L

Holy Chapel 2018

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Fruchtig
Wie ein Obstkorb aus frischen Früchten: Von Zitrus über Pfirsich, Apfel, Birne, zu Kirsche, Himbeere oder Pflaume.
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Feinmaschig, Oxidativ
19,90 €
26,53 €/L

Feinfühlige Arbeit nach Biodynamischen Richtlinien

Obwohl das Weingut 2018 Bio zertifiziert wurde, arbeiten die Brand Bros längst mit strengeren bio-dynamischen Richtlinien und bewirtschaften insgesamt 18 Hektar Weinberge die neben Riesling, Silvaner, Weißburgunder, Spätburgunder auch mit Portugieser, Müller Thurgau und Cabernet Franc bepflanzt wurden. Geringe Erträge, viel Begrünung und feinfühlige Laubarbeit im Weinberg stehen an der Tagesordnung. Mit äußerst positiven Effekt: die Reben werden aufgrund der Biodiversität immens gestärkt, die Alkoholwerte der Weine erreichen somit maximale 12% und strotzen so vor animierender Frische, ohne die Geradlinigkeit zu verlieren.

Klimatisch hat Bockenheim auch ein etwas kühleres Klima im Vergleich zu anderen Teilen der Pfalz, was die Trauben langsamer reifen lässt. Ein wichtiger Faktor dabei spielt der Donnersberg, der vor ankommenden Wettersystemen schützt und den Wind in die Täler hinunter führt, welcher die Weinberge auch von Mehltau frei hält.

video-img

Bei den Brands bekommt jeder Wein die Zeit, die er braucht

Im Keller geht es ebenfalls wenig dogmatisch zu: die Weine vergären mit natürlichen Weinbergshefen und werden ohne Filtration und Zugabe von weiteren Additiven auf die Flasche gezogen. Die Abfüllung basiert nicht auf einem festen Datum, Daniel und Jonas geben jedem Wein die Zeit, die er braucht. Die Erzeugnisse sind so lebendig wie die beiden selbst - so schmeckt die junge Pfalz!