Winery

COS - Azienda Agricola

The first wine at COS was still stomped with the feet. What began as a game was later turned into something serious. In the meantime, COS has become synonymous with the rebirth of the Vittoria area in Sicily and its exceptional wines.

content-img
content-img

"We didn't follow any fashion, just passion and curiosity for a world that was unknown to most people in Sicily at the time."

– Giusto Occhipinti

Colour
Wine Style
Type
Grape variety
Price
Eigenschaft

Zibibbo in Pithos IGT 2017

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Vegetative
Floral
Like a fragrant flower meadow with notes like rose and jasmine blossoms and delicate meadow herbs.
Fine-meshed, Aromatic
25,50 €
34,00 €/L

From the youngest winemakers to the trendsetters in Sicilian viticulture

COS is the acronym of the family names of the three founders Giusto Occhipinti, Giambattista Cilia and Cirino Strano. When they founded the company in 1980, they were the three youngest winegrowers in Italy and bottled just 1470 bottles. Today they run the winery, which now covers 35 hectares, with a total production of 200 thousand bottles and work 100% according to biodynamic guidelines.

video-img

video-img

COS is the epitome of Sicily's outstanding natural wines.

The south of Sicily is dominated by cool winds and the soils consist of sand, limestone and chalk. These factors noticeably influence the cultivation of certain crops in the area.

The native grape varieties cultivated are Nero d'Avola, Grecanico, Frappato, Insolia, Zibbibo and additionally some Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. The Pithos wines are fermented entirely on the skins in large terracotta amphorae, and only in the following early summer do they move to large wood or cement for further maturation.

The other wines from COS are fermented in concrete, with subsequent maturation in stainless steel or Slavonian oak. The wines are also aged in barrels and bottles for a few years longer than usual; a wine from COS is only available when it is halfway ready to drink.

Weingut

COS - Azienda Agricola

Der erste Wein wurde bei COS noch mit den Füßen gestampft. Was als Spiel begann, wurde später ernst umgesetzt. Mittlerweile ist COS ein Synonym der Wiedergeburt des Vittoria Gebiets und seiner außergewöhnlichen Weine.

content-img
content-img

"Wir folgten keiner Mode, sondern nur der Leidenschaft und Neugier für eine Welt, die damals auf Sizilien den meisten Menschen noch unbekannt war."

– Giusto Occhipinti

Farbe
Wine Style
Art
Rebsorte
Preis

Zibibbo in Pithos IGT 2017

winestyle-img Fine & Layered
Pflanzlich
Wie belebende Kräuter, Gräser, Heu über Kamille bis hin zu Noten ätherischer Öle.
Floral
Wie eine duftende Blumenwiese mit Noten wie Rosen- und Jasmin-Blüten und zarten Wiesenkräutern.
Feinmaschig, Aromatisch
25,50 €
34,00 €/L

Von den jüngsten Winzern Siziliens zu modernen Trendsettern im sizilianischen Weinbau

COS ist das Akronym der Familiennamen der drei Gründer Giusto Occhipinti, Giambattista Cilia und Cirino Strano. Bei der Gründung im Jahre 1980 waren sie die drei jüngsten Winzer Italiens und füllten gerade einmal 1470 Flaschen ab. Heute führen sie das mittlerweile 35 ha umfassende Weingut mit einer Gesamterzeugung von 200 Tsd. Flaschen und arbeiten zu 100% nach biodynamischen Richtlinien.

video-img
video-img

COS ist der Inbegriff für überragende Naturweine Siziliens

Der Süden Siziliens wird von kühlen Winden dominiert und die Böden bestehen aus Sand, Kalkstein und Kreide. Diese Faktoren beeinflussen den Anbau bestimmter Kulturpflanzen in der Gegend merklich.

Bewirtschaftet werden die heimische Rebsorten wie Nero d’Avola, Grecanico, Frappato, Insolia, Zibbibo und zusätzlich etwas Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot. Die Pithos-Weine werden komplett auf den Schalen in großen Terracotta Amphoren vergoren, erst im nächsten Frühsommer wechseln sie ins große Holz oder Zement für die weitere Reife.

Die anderen Weine von COS werden im Beton fermentiert, die anschließende Reifung erfolgt dann in Edelstahl oder slawonischer Eiche. Auch werden die Weine einige Jahre länger im Fass und auf der Flasche ausgebaut als sonst üblich, erst im halbwegs trinkreifen Zustand ist ein Wein von COS zu haben.